Emptiness

There is an emptiness that is healthy. It happens when I choose to remove something from my life, making space for the new to enter. That’s the up side of emptiness. And then, there is an emptiness that is painful or deadening. That’s the down side where I simply feel that my life is not particularly rich or meaningful.

In the physical world, twice recently, I have deliberately created emptiness.

The first time was when we moved. What I saw as the living room was quite small compared to our earlier home. Emptying that room of my designated living room furniture and paraphernalia led to it becoming a parlour, a room dedicated solely to intimate visiting with one another.

The second time was when I developed my signature look. I emptied the clothes closet completely as a beginning to figuring things out. And yes, after a few streamlining attempts, I achieved an unique-to-me look that was simple, harmonious and personally satisfying.

Consciously emptying a room, a closet, my mind of previously held opinions was vital. I could not see a new possibility when I was still looking at and perhaps, attached to the old. I think this is what people mean when they talk about “letting go” or about “the power of forgiveness”, both of which have often seemed too abstract for me or have tended to trigger a host of inner talk objections. It may also be the moral behind the Judeo-Christian story of Lot’s wife, the woman who “looked back” as she was journeying forward. Regardless though of how a person frames it, at the outset, emptying is a key to success. This is how much Simple Matters. This is my first step towards discovering my signature life.

.

 

 

Leave a comment